The Governing Body relies on close links with all stakeholders and this is reflected in the make-up of the Governors who come from diverse backgrounds such as education, health, voluntary sector work, flying start, business and local community representatives including parents.

The Governing Body recognises and celebrates the achievements of the Centre and acts as a critical friend in supporting change to address areas where improvement is needed. It undertakes an executive role with regard to appeals and appointments of the Head and Deputy Head of Centre. It monitors the work and effectiveness of the Centre through sub-committees which focus on specific areas such as finance or health and safety.

The Members of the Ely and Caerau Children’s Centre Governing Body are:

Claire Hill Chair of Governors
Denise Kelland Vice Chair of Governors
Kathryn Leighfield Acting Head of Centre
Rachel Fulthorpe Acting Deputy Head of Centre
Karen March Staff
Ray Wright LEA Representative
Lynette Davies Community Governor
Julia Kitridge Community Governor
Vacancy LEA Representative
Vacancy Parent Representative
Sarah Dodd Parent Representative
Ed Kinsella Parent Representative
Robin Owen Parent Representative
Julia Ellis Clerk to the Governors


If you are interested in becoming a Governor at the Centre please let us know.

If you have a comment or question about the Centre and would like to speak to one of our Governors, they can be contacted through the Centre on 02920 671420.